trimming my roots…

What is the Point of Trimming Hair?

I am guilty of not doing this but i felt it might be helpful to others like me and thanks to Neno Naturals;

Picture

I’m not afraid to trim my hair but I know many girls are. Once my hair reached shoulder length I was actually guilty of excessive trimming – I did it almost weekly because my hair was getting tangled all the time.

Trimming is important because:

1. It helps you hair looking good and well looked after; It smartens you up. Unsightly hair ends are not attractive.

2. It gets rid of damaged hair. Damaged hair and split ends are more likely to get tangled with health hair; this extra friction encourages more hair damage and increased breakage.

3. It encourages growth. I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t understand how this works but apparently taking care of hair ends helps hair grow. I think this is likely due to better length retention.

If the ends are damaged and are allowed break off at will the hair that’s left also has a damaged end which in turn is susceptible to further breakage.

With a pair of scissors you can cut the damage off clean leaving only healthy hair that doesn’t tangle and cause friction.

So there you have it; as for how often you should trim, that’s an individual choice but two to three times a year seems to be common in many naturals’ regimen.

In addition, remember that “dusting” may mean that you can get away with trimming your hair less often. “Dusting” involves trimming so little hair that it looks like dust. This technique helps to stop split ends from happening at all. You can dust every 6 to 8 weeks. Just snip off a tiny, inconsequential amount to keep the ends healthy.

You might also like:
How Often Should You Be Trimming Your Natural Hair?!

 

Leave a comment